Oat Cookies

26Apr10

Completely unrelated to Oat Cookies, but a beautiful image..

I’m lying in bed feeling a little unwell. A sore throat infection thing has attacked me! Poor me. I have endeavoured to comfort myself with food and books. So far I have fallen in love with Henry James via The Portrait of a Lady (it’s one of those books I have borrowed from the library four to five times and never built up the gumption to read). I have also got sucked into Anna Karenina, which I have looked at on the bookshelf for a very long time. Thankfully I have discovered/been loaned a different translation so my relationship with Tolstoy has improved.

The list of what I have eaten while endeavouring to recover from this throat thing is a little long to catalogue (for some reason I don’t tend to lose my appetite when ill). So I thought I would just post this recipe for simple Oat Cookies. It was inspired/borrowed/adapted from the Pioneer Woman. The cookies remind me of porridge…. at least in terms of comfort. If that doesn’t inspire you to cook them you are missing out on a dose of good hearted warmth.

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup caster sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 cups quick oats

Method

Cream butter and sugars until well combined. In a seperate bowl beat eggs and vanilla. Add eggs to the butter/sugar mixture and mix well.

Sift in the flour, salt and baking soda. Mix carefully until well combined, then stir in the quick oats. Once you have a firm dough, take teaspoon size pieces and roll into balls. Place these on a baking tray and press down to make a small disc shapes. **I then pop the baking tray into the freezer for 15 minutes to chill… somehow this makes them cook better!

Bake in a 180 degree oven for 10 minutes or until golden.

6 Responses to “Oat Cookies”

  1. wat is your myspace page

  2. Hello!! My name is SIMAUMA. I write blog about the food.Please look.And I am glad if I link to your blog. (URL)http://food-collection-simauma.blogspot.com/

  3. Oh I think that photo warrants pride of place… those cookies sounds so easy and nourishing, what better for when you’re feeling under the weather !

  4. The Oat Cookies sound fantastically simple and a great winter recipe. I imagine having them with a mug of steaming tea. Shall make them thisafo, cheers.

  5. 5 gottadealaustralia

    hope to try this one soon…

    australia
    bidding

  6. 6 Christian Rene Friborg

    Oatmeal cookies are not only delicious, but they are healthy as well. Can’t wait to try this recipe.


Leave a Reply

