Lime Chiffon Cake

28Jan10

This cake is light, airy and obviously wind-bourne from heaven. It’s a bit of a twist on Martha Stewart’s Lemon Chiffon Cake which I discovered on the amazing 17 and Baking. I amped up the lime and decided to grace my new tube tin with its presence.

Also… drum roll… I’ve finally done my first long version post, with pictures accompanying (almost) every step. And sigh, this will be remembered as a recipe where both the photos and the cake turned out perfectly with only a few hiccups along the way. Enjoy! 

First of all, as the Pioneer Woman would say… here are the cast of characters:

Sift together your flour, baking soda, salt, and 3/4 cup sugar.

Seperate the three eggs.

Zest your 4 limes.. the kitchen will smell amazing. (At this point in my chiffon baking adventure I paused the process and went to Pilates).

When I got back from Pilates feeling all virtuous I added the lime juice, oil, lime zest, vanilla and water to the egg yolks.

I then gave it a hearty whisk with the hand beater.

The dry ingredients were then plopped on top of the egg mix and stirred gently in.

 Attention was then turned to the all important chiffon cake ingredient, egg whites. These had to be whisked until foamy – this looked appropriately foamy to me.

Then add the cream of tartar (or vinegar in my case). Unfortunately this stage of chiffon creation steadily became more muscle burn inducing then my pilates class.. something was terribly, terribly wrong. Through sheer willpower I got them stiffish (no picture because you would laugh), but it is only now as I type this that I realise the magic 1 tbsp of sugar which makes egg whites peak was left out (where was my baking mind at that moment?).

Add a third of your stiff/stiffish egg whites to the batter and stir in. Then add the remaining two thirds and fold gently.

Pour the mix into a tube/bundt pan (to help with getting out grease and line the bottom – I had sooo much trouble getting this out.. let’s just say I did Masai style jumping movements). Smooth the top with a spatula and put in the 160C/325F oven for 45 minutes. When you take it out let it cool for as long as possible – two hours is good.

Sprinkle with icing sugar to serve (you could also do a glaze or something fancy with a lime curd if you are so time consumingly inclined).

And finally you can eat it.

Ingredients
3/4 cup cake flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup plus 1 tbsp sugar, divided
3 large eggs, separated, room temperature
1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used rice bran oil)
1 tbsp lime juice (I upgraded this to 3 tbsp)
2 tbsp grated  zest (about 4 limes)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup water
1/4 tsp cream of tartar (panic stations after I realised we didn’t have any.. so I used white vinegar instead)

Method
Preheat the oven to 160C/325F.

In a medium bowl sift together the flour, baking soda, salt, and 3/4 cup sugar. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the three egg yolks, oil, lime juice, lime zest, vanilla, and water. Stir in the dry ingredients.

In an electric mixer, beat the three egg whites on medium speed until foamy. Add the cream of tartar and beat on high until soft peaks form, 1-2 minutes. Gradually add the tablespoon of sugar, beating on high for about 3 minutes until stiff peaks form.

Stir 1/3 of the egg white mixture into the batter, then use a rubber spatula to gently fold the remaining 2/3 into the batter. Pour into a greased (and lined – let’s just say I jumped around the kitchen trying to get this out) tube/bundt pan and smooth the top with the spatula. Bake 45 minutes or until a skewer poked into the cake comes out clean and the top is golden.

Cool the cake upside down by inverting the pan onto a bottle. Let cool to room temperature, at least 2 hours, before running a knife between cake and pan and inverting onto a plate. Dust with powdered sugar and serve.

Source: Martha Stewart’s Living .. via the fantastic 17 and baking (she’s been nominated for a bloggie .. so vote people, VOTE).

Best cooked to… Well I thought this cake deserved something hitting the teenage girl charts – Ellie Goulding. This British 23 year old has some great dancey tunes (I like Under the Sheets). She also did the female voice part in Passion Pit’s best song, Sleepyhead.

7 Responses to “Lime Chiffon Cake”

  1. this looks great! I love the flavors of lime!

  2. Regardless you keep your own coffee maker out in the counter otherwise accumulated
    out in the cabinet, make every effort to put it as part of someplace exactly where
    it is out from foods splatters or perhaps as part of constant contact along with grasp.

    we love my personal bialetti espresso maker and also think it
    probably produces the ideal coffee of all the separate alternatives around
    and additionally this time we have moved inside my new
    home which has the fuel cooker I am going in order to
    make the undertaking to make use of it a lot more often.

  3. Generally there is an expanding quantity of
    cancers which lycopene can advise with. are usually stated to feel benefited by following a Paleo diet organize.

    Gary Sterling has blogged about the number of health related
    topics. When your goals is actually to achieve your very own best body by eating natural foods,
    the Paleo Diet can be benefit your very own
    occasion to investigate. In truth, the food preparation methods
    which are utilized by our grandmothers can try to be the really same
    things that we want to learn being a way to prepare mealtime dishes the
    Paleo way.

  4. obviously like your web-site but you have to test the spelling on several of your posts.
    Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome
    to inform the truth however I will certainly come back again.

  5. Today, while I wass at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested
    to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she
    can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now btoken and she has 83 views.
    I know this iss completely off topic but I had to share it
    witth someone!

  6. I need to to thank you for this excellent read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it.
    I’ve got you bookmarked to look at new stuff you post…


  1. 1 18 and abused accounts

Leave a Reply

